Sign-Up Now! - Signup for the Softball America newsletter. Coverage weekly directly to your inbox.

WBSC Adds Five Countries For Softball

(Photo courtesy of WBSC)

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) has announced the addition of five countries to its member federations for softball.

The new WBSC softball members include Benin, Bangladesh, Palestine, Egypt and Kosovo. All five countries were unanimously added to the WBSC at the 2019 WBSC Congress, which was recently held in Sakai, Japan.

All five countries that became softball members also became baseball members, while Bermuda and Laos just became WBSC members for baseball. The total WBSC member federations now sits at 198, while an additional 13 federations are associate members.

Of the WBSC's five new softball members, Benin and Egypt will represent Africa, Bangladesh and Palestine will represent Asia and Kosovo will represent Europe.


VIDEO: Erika Piancastelli On Team Italy, Her Mom's Influence

Softball America spoke with former McNeese State All-American and future Team Italy Olympian Erika Piancastelli.

of Free Stories Remaining