Join Our Newsletter! Get The Latest Delivered Right To Your Inbox

2019 High School Top 25

(Photo Courtesy of Winter Springs Softball)

The game of the year featured a pair of unbeaten teams in Winter Springs (Fla.) and Lakewood Ranch (Bradenton, Fla.) playing for the Florida Class 8A state championship.

Behind a one-hitter from Mississippi-bound junior Aynslie Furbush and a timely two-run triple from senior Destiny Colgate, a Mercer recruit, Winter Springs knocked off former No. 1 Lakewood Ranch to win the state title as well as claim the inaugural Softball America national championship. The Bears allowed 38 runs all season and committed just 26 errors in the field, to edge out fellow unbeaten Foothill (Pleasanton, Calif.) for the top spot.

Six teams earned their way into the final Top 25, led by No. 10 Katy (Texas), which shot into the rankings by knocking off No. 16 Keller (Texas) and No. 13 Klein Collins (Houston, Texas) in the Texas Class 6A state semifinals and final, respectively. The Tigers outscored their playoff opponents by a 108-18 margin.

Also joining the group was No. 15 Williamsville East (East Amherst, N.Y.), which capped a perfect campaign behind sophomore Missouri commit Summer Clark, who tossed a one-hit shutout in the Class A title game on her 16th birthday.

New Palestine (Ind.) won its third straight Class 3A state title (it moves up to 4A next year) and took the No. 21 slot, while Arizona Class 6A champ O'Connor (Phoenix, Ariz.) overpowered its opponents to slide in at No. 23. Huntingtown (Md.) rejoined the rankings at No. 24 after outscoring playoff foes 52-4 en route to the Class 3A crown. Hoover (Clendenin, W.Va.) claimed the final spot in the rankings on the back of its third consecutive Class AA crown.

Dropped from the final regular season poll were Barbers Hill (Mont Belvieu, Texas), Marist (Chicago, Ill.), St. John's Vianney (Holmdel, N.J.), Apopka (Fla.), West Stanly (Oakboro, N.C.), and Mount Vernon (Ohio). Fourteen states are represented in the end-of-year rankings, with Texas earning six spots, and California and Florida each taking four.

Updated on: 6/28/2019
  1. 1
    Last: 4

    Winter Springs (Fla.)

    Winter Springs (Fla.) 31-0

    Won Class 8A state title.

  2. 2
    Last: 2

    Foothill (Pleasanton, Calif.)

    Foothill (Pleasanton, Calif.) 28-0

    Won North Coast Section Division 1 title.

  3. 3
    Last: 3

    Norco (Calif.)

    Norco (Calif.) 31-1

    Won Southern Section Division 1 title.

  4. 4
    Last: 7

    Male (Louisville, Ky.)

    Male (Louisville, Ky.) 39-0

    Won state title.

  5. 5
    Last: 6

    Angleton (Texas)

    Angleton (Texas) 39-2

    Won Class 5A state title.

  6. 6
    Last: 1

    Lakewood Ranch (Bradenton, Fla.)

    Lakewood Ranch (Bradenton, Fla.) 30-1

    Lost in Class 8A state final.

  7. 7
    Last: 9

    Coral Springs Charter (Coral Springs, Fla.)

    Coral Springs Charter (Coral Springs, Fla.) 29-1

    Won Class 5A state title.

  8. 8
    Last: 16

    Oshkosh North (Wisc.)

    Oshkosh North (Wisc.) 31-0

    Won Division 1 state title.

  9. 9
    Last: 17

    Mater Dei Catholic (Chula Vista, Calif.)

    Mater Dei Catholic (Chula Vista, Calif.) 31-4

    Won San Diego Section Open Division title.

  10. 10

    Katy (Texas)

    Katy (Texas) 37-2

    Won Class 6A state title

  11. 11
    Last: 10

    Great Oak (Temecula, Calif.)

    Great Oak (Temecula, Calif.) 26-4-1

    Lost in Southern Section Division 1 final.

  12. 12
    Last: 15

    Trenton (Fla.)

    Trenton (Fla.) 27-0

    Won Class 1A state title.

  13. 13
    Last: 8

    Klein Collins (Spring, Texas)

    Klein Collins (Spring, Texas) 38-3

    Lost in Class 6A state final.

  14. 14
    Last: 12

    Cedar Ridge (Round Rock, Texas)

    Cedar Ridge (Round Rock, Texas) 30-1

    Lost in Class 6A, Region 2 second round.

  15. 15

    Williamsville East (East Amherst NY)

    Williamsville East (East Amherst NY) 27-0

    Won First Class A state title

  16. 16
    Last: 11

    Keller (Texas)

    Keller (Texas) 35-4-1

    Lost in Class 6A state semifinals.

  17. 17
    Last: 23

    Donovan Catholic (Toms River, N.J.)

    Donovan Catholic (Toms River, N.J.) 30-2

    Won Non-Public A and state Tournament of Champions titles.

  18. 18
    Last: 5

    Keystone (LaGrange, Ohio)

    Keystone (LaGrange, Ohio) 28-1

    Lost in Division II state semifinals.

  19. 19
    Last: 13

    Forney (Texas)

    Forney (Texas) 36-4

    Lost in Class 5A state semifinals.

  20. 20
    Last: 19

    Notre Dame (Crowley, La.)

    Notre Dame (Crowley, La.) 35-0

    Won Division III state title.

  21. 21

    New Palestine (Ind.)

    New Palestine (Ind.) 29-3

    Won record third straight Class 3A state title

  22. 22
    Last: 25

    Hartsville (S.C.)

    Hartsville (S.C.) 29-0

    Won Class 4A state title.

  23. 23

    O'Connor (Phoenix, AZ)

    O'Connor (Phoenix, AZ) 23

    Won conference 6A state title.

  24. 24

    Huntingtown (MD.)

    Huntingtown (MD.) 25-1

    Won Class 4A state title.

  25. 25

    Hoover (Clendenin, WV)

    Hoover (Clendenin, WV) 35-1

    Won third consecutive Class AA state title.


Are you a member?

In order to access this exclusive content you must have a Softball America Account. 

Login or sign up  

of Free Stories Remaining